Select Page

It was this part of the withdrawal agreement that led to its defeat in January, thanks to the hostility of Eurosceptics and trade unionists in Northern Ireland. A number of high-level Tory-Brexiteers, including Dominic Raab and Iain Duncan Smith, voted in favour of the deal, but it was not enough to avoid another damaging defeat for Mrs May, who had offered to keep a low profile to convince her critics to support the deal. I set out the reasons for rejecting the agreement when, on the first day of the Brexit debate on 5 December, which had been opened by the (previous) Prime Minister, I closed for our front bank. You can watch or read my speech here. Faced with the inevitable defeat, it reduced the five days scheduled for the debate and postponed the vote until 15 January. After a wasted month, the agreement was reached with the vast majority of our country`s history; 230 votes. Amendments were made to the previous bill, which was backed by the House of Commons in October but withdrawn by the government after MPs refused a three-day deadline to pass it through Parliament. The SNP`s Westminster chairman, Ian Blackford, said: “Scotland still totally rejects Brexit, but the Prime Minister is blindly rushing against the cliff with these Brexit plans, which will make us poorer and worse off.” If the next steps at Westminster go ahead as planned, the European Parliament is expected to ratify the withdrawal agreement on 29 January, paving the way for the UK to leave the bloc two days later. On 15 January 2019, the House of Commons voted with 230 votes against the Brexit withdrawal agreement[10] the largest vote against the British government in history. [31] The government may survived a vote of confidence the next day. [10] On March 12, 2019, the House of Commons voted 149 votes against the agreement, the fourth-biggest defeat of the government in the history of the House of Commons.

[32] A third vote on the Brexit withdrawal agreement, widely expected on 19 March 2019, was rejected by the House of Commons spokesman on 18 March 2019, on the basis of a parliamentary convention of 2 April 1604, which prevented British governments from forcing the House of Commons to vote several times on a subject already voted on by the House of Commons. [34] [35] [36] An abbreviated version of the withdrawal agreement, in which the annex political statement had been withdrawn, consisted of the test of “substantial amendments,” so that a third vote was held on 29 March 2019, but was rejected by 58 votes. [37] A previous withdrawal agreement – reached between former Prime Minister Theresa May and the EU – has been rejected three times by MPs. On the European Union side, the European Parliament also approved the ratification of the agreement on 29 January 2020[40] and the Council of the European Union approved the conclusion of the agreement by e-mail on 30 January 2020. [42] That is why, on 30 January 2020, the European Union also tabled its instrument for ratification of the agreement, concluding the agreement[43] and allowing it to enter into force on the date of the UK`s withdrawal from the EU on 31 January 2020, at 11 .m GMT. After the second defeat of May`s divorce agreement, the European Council met in Brussels on 21 March to decide what to do next. EU leaders have given May two options: postpone Brexit until 22 May if MPs vote in favour of the withdrawal deal, or postpone it until 12 April if they vote against the deal.